Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:


TENNIS

Australian Open (to 28)

MELBOURNE - Top seed Rafa Nadal was rattled by a feisty challenge from Diego Schwartzman but held firm to fend off the diminutive Argentine 6-3 6-7(4) 6-3 6-3 and reach his 10th Australian Open quarter-final, while Bulgarian Grigor Dimitrov kept his cool to knock out home favourite Nick Kyrgios. (TENNIS-AUSOPEN/ (PIX), expect throughout, by Martyn Herman, Ian Ransom and Nick Mulvenney)


SOCCER

Premier League

Southampton v Tottenham Hotspur (1600)

LONDON - Fifth-placed Tottenham Hotspur, unbeaten in their last five league matches, face Southampton, who are on a 10-game winless run in the league, leaving them in the relegation zone. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect by 1800 GMT/1 PM ET, 400 words)


La Liga

Deportivo Alaves v Leganes (1100)

Real Madrid v Deportivo La Coruna (1515)

Real Sociedad v Celta Vigo (1730)

Real Betis v Barcelona (1945)

BARCELONA - Barcelona can go 11 points clear at te top of La Liga when they visit Real Betis, while crisis-hit champions Real Madrid play at home to relegation-fighting Deportivo La Coruna looking for a first win in four league games. (SOCCER-SPAIN/, expect by 1715 GMT/12.15 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)


Bundesliga

Bayern Munich v Werder Bremen (1430)

Schalke 04 v Hannover 96 (1700)

Bundesliga leaders Bayern Munich can go 16 points clear at the top when they host Werder Bremen, while Schalke 04, who saw their 11-game unbeaten run snapped last week, face Hanover 96.(SOCCER-GERMANY/(PIX), 400 words)


Serie A

Atalanta v Napoli (1130)

Bologna v Benevento (1400)

Lazio v Chievo (1400)

Hellas Verona v Crotone (1400)

Sampdoria v Fiorentina (1400)

Udinese v SPAL (1400)

Sassuolo v Torino (1400)

Cagliari v AC Milan (1700)

Inter Milan v Roma (1945)

Fading pair meet in Serie A

MILAN - Inter Milan and AS Roma, who both began the season brightly but have floundered over the last month, meet as Serie A resumes after a two-week winter break while leaders Napoli visit Atalanta. (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect from 1400 GMT/9 AM ET, 500 words)

NFL

Brady questionable as Patriots meet Jaguars

The surprising Jacksonville Jaguars visit the New England Patriots for the American Football Conference championship and a trip to the Super Bowl with questions still unanswered about the injured right thumb of Tom Brady, who has led New England to five Super Bowl titles. (FOOTBALL-NFL-NEP-JAC/, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)


Vikings out to play Super Bowl at home

The Minnesota Vikings travel to Philadelphia to meet the Eagles for the National Football Conference championship and a berth in the NFL title game as they try to become the first team to play in a Super Bowl in their home stadium. (FOOTBALL-NFL-PHI-MIN/, expect by 0400 GMT/11 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)


CRICKET

Australia v England, third ODI in Sydney

SYDNEY - England's Jos Buttler struck a belligerent unbeaten 100 to set up a 16-run win over Australia in the third one-day international on Sunday, as the touring side took an unassailable 3-0 lead in the five-match series. (CRICKET-ODI-AUS-ENG/, moved, 400 words)


Singapore Open

Sublime Garcia cruises to season-opening win in Singapore

SINGAPORE - ergio Garcia produced a masterful display of bogey-free golf over 27 holes on Sunday to open his season with a five-shot victory at the weather-disrupted Singapore Open, the Spaniard making his move early and dominating from the front.(GOLF-ASIA/, moved, 400 words)


Abu Dhabi HSBC Champions

Fisher, Pieters share Abu Dhabi lead with McIlroy in chase

Briton Ross Fisher and Thomas Pieters share the lead heading into the final round of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship, with four-times major winner Rory McIlroy trailing by a shot. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, 300 words)


CareerBuilder Challenge, La Quinta, California (to 21)

Cook seeks second tour win as challengers lurk

After his breakthrough PGA Tour victory in Georgia in November, Austin Cook seeks to lift another trophy as he takes a one-stroke lead over fellow Americans Andrew Landry and Martin Piller into the final round at the Stadium Course at PGA West, while Scott Piercy and Spanish world number three Jon Rahm tee off just two behind. (GOLF-LAQUINTA/, expect by 0200 GMT/9 PM ET, 400 words)


GOLF

Woods faces obstacles in comeback bid

As anticipation builds over Tiger Woods's official comeback after nearly a year rehabilitating from a spinal fusion, two former professionals have offered a tempered view of what to expect from the 14-times major champion in 2018 and beyond. (GOLF-WOODS/RETURN, expect by 1000 GMT/5 AM ET, by Andrew Both, 600 words)


ALPINE SKIING

Hirscher aims for sixth slalom win in a row

KITZBUEHEL, Austria - Dominant Marcel Hirscher looks to win his sixth successive slalom race as he continued his charge towards a seventh successive overall World Cup title (ALPINE-SKIING/MEN, expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, 300 words)


Switzerland's Gut claims first win since injury

CORTINA D'AMPEZZO - Swiss Lara Gut won the World Cup Super G at Cortina on Sunday to claim her first win since last February's knee injury and signal her return to form in time for the Winter Olympics. (ALPINE-SKIING/WOMEN, expect by 1215 GMT/08:15 ET, 200 words)


HANDBALL

Germany and Denmark lock horns in clash of titans

ZAGREB - The European championship in Croatia is set to serve up a treat as holders Germany take on Olympic champions Denmark while Spain meet surprise package Macedonia as the battle for semi-final berths intensifies. (HANDBALL-EUROPE/(PIX); expect by 2200 GMT/5PM ET, by Zoran Milosavljevic, 300 words)


NFL

Brady questionable as Patriots meet Jaguars

The surprising Jacksonville Jaguars visit the New England Patriots for the American Football Conference championship and a trip to the Super Bowl with questions still unanswered about the injured right thumb of Tom Brady, who has led New England to five Super Bowl titles. (FOOTBALL-NFL-NEP-JAC/, expect by 0030 GMT/7:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)


Vikings out to play Super Bowl at home

The Minnesota Vikings travel to Philadelphia to meet the Eagles for the National Football Conference championship and a berth in the NFL title game as they try to become the first team to play in a Super Bowl in their home stadium. (FOOTBALL-NFL-PHI-MIN/, expect by 0400 GMT/11 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)


FREESTYLE SKIING

Goepper, Kenworthy compete for Olympic spots

MAMMOTH, Calif. – Americans Nick Goepper and Gus Kenworthy look to confirm their spots on the U.S. Olympic team in slopestyle freestyle skiing when they compete in the U.S. Grand Prix in Mammoth. (OLYMPICS-2018-FSKI/USA, expect by 0200 GMT/9 PM ET, 200 words)

NBA

Celtics bid to bounce back

The Eastern Conference leading Boston Celtics try to end a two-game losing streak when they are home to the Orlando Magic in one of the four games on the National Basketball Association schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)


NHL

Golden Knights take on Hurricanes

The Vegas Golden Knights seek to increase their Western Conference lead with a trip East to play the Carolina Hurricanes and the Winnipeg Jets hope to close in on Central Division leader the Nashville Predators when they are home to the Vancouver Canucks in two of the five games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0700 GMT/2 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)


NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)


(Europe Desk Editor: Toby Davis)

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes