Speedway kicks off 77th season

Mar. 29—ANDERSON — For the 77th consecutive year, Anderson Speedway opens a new season Saturday with the return of two full-time divisions.

For the first time since 2003, the Speedway will have a full-time modified division.

Modifieds have been racing on a regular basis with touring series making visits, but this year marks the return as a full-time division.

Mark Harrison was crowned the last champion in 2003, and a large field of the powerful open-wheel cars is expected this year.

The Modifieds will compete in a 40-lap feature.

Opening night also marks the return of the Legends as a full-time division. The track has hosted Legends competitors on an annual basis for the Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial race.

The Legends feature is 25 laps.

Madison County resident John Robbins has been crowned a champion four times over the years.

The Ford Crown Vic division returns along with the Thunder Roadsters. Both divisions will showcase 25-lap feature events.

Doug Dugger is the defending Thunder Roadster champion, and Noah Allison was the 2023 Ford Division champion.

Qualifying Saturday is set for 4:30 p.m. with racing at 6 p.m.

Adult tickets are $15. Tickets are $5 for children between the ages of 6 and 12 and free for children under the age of 5.

Follow Ken de la Bastide on Twitter @KendelaBastide, or call 765-640-4863.