Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Monday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Monday:


SOCCER

Premier League

Brighton & Hove Albion v Stoke City (2000)

Brighton look to build on solid start against Stoke

Promoted Brighton have surprised the doomsayers with a solid start in the Premier League and the mid-table south-coast side will aim to build on that platform when they host struggling Stoke City. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-BRH-STK/ (PIX), 400 words)


Champions League

We'll bring you all the latest team and injury news plus the managers' news conferences ahead of this week's Champions League group games. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-TEAM/)


Chelsea great's site lets fans put money where heart is

FRANKFURT - English fourth-tier outfit Stevenage are unlikely candidates to be leading financial innovation in the game but they are the first club to sell bonds to fans online via a new site founded by former Chelsea and Juventus striker Gianluca Vialli, an ex-Goldman Sachs banker and two other investors. (SOCCER-CROWDFUNDING/, by Francesco Canepa)


CRICKET

The Ashes

Australia start favourites but Ashes no forgone conclusion

SYDNEY - Australia will start as favourites to reclaim the Ashes over the next 10 weeks if only because of their home advantage but picking the winners in cricket's oldest test rivalry has become a fool's game in recent years. (CRICKET-ASHES/ (PREVIEW) moving at 0800 GMT/3 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, 800 words)

See also:

(CRICKET-ASHES-AUS/SMITH)

(CRICKET-ASHES-ENG/ROOT)

(CRICKET-ASHES-ENG/BAT)

(CRICKET-ASHES/ (FACTBOX)

(CRICKET-ASHES/RECORDS (FACTBOX)

(CRICKET-ASHES-AUS/PENPIX)

(CRICKET-ASHES-ENG/PENPIX)


India v Sri Lanka, 1st test

Resurgent India face intriguing final day v Sri Lanka

KOLKATA - Resurgent India will try to force a result as they go into the final day of the opening test against Sri Lanka with a 49-run lead and nine wickets in hand. Lokesh Rahul resumes on 73 with Cheteshwar Pujara on two. (CRICKET-TEST-IND-LKA/, expect throughout, 400 words)


NFL

Seahawks go for key win against Falcons

The Seattle Seahawks look for a victory against the Atlanta Falcons. (FOOTBALL-NFL-SEA-ATL/, expect by 0530 GMT/12:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)


OLYMPICS

South Korea looks for another hero to follow Kim Yuna

SEOUL - Figure skater Kim Yuna played a huge part in bringing the Winter Olympics to South Korea but with her retirement after the Sochi Games the 2018 hosts are without a true winter sports "hero" to get behind, which some see as a major factor behind sluggish ticket sales. (OLYMPICS-2018/HEROES (PIX, TV), moving at 0900 GMT/4 AM ET, by Peter Rutherford, 800 words)


GOLF

Spieth's Sydney love affair comes with a cash bonus

World number two Jordan Spieth will be well rewarded for his trip Down Under this week regardless of whether he successfully defends his title at the Australian Open, a tournament he has developed a love affair with over the last four years. (GOLF-AUSTRALIA/SPIETH moving at 0630 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Andrew Both, 490 words)


NBA

Celtics seek to enhance streak at Dallas

The Boston Celtics bid to stretch their win streak to 16 games when they visit the struggling Dallas Mavericks and the Cleveland Cavaliers, on a four-game winning streak, play at Central Division rivals the Detroit Pistons in two of the 11 games on the National Basketball schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0600 GMT/1 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)


NHL

Coyotes visit red-hot Maple Leafs

The surging Toronto Maple Leafs go for their seventh consecutive win when the Arizona Coyotes visit and Alex Ovechkin and the Washington Capitals try to stay in the crowded Metropolitan Division race in a home contest with the Western Conference's Calgary Flames visit in two of the six games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0630 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)



NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/7:00 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes