The 4 Scottish Football Writers' Player of the Year nominees revealed including Celtic and Rangers stars

The four nominees for the 2023/24 Scottish Football Writers' Player of the Year have been revealed.

Those in the frame for the main SFWA prize are Rangers' Jack Butland, Matt O'Riley of Celtic, Hearts' Lawrence Shankland and Bojan Miovski of Aberdeen. They will compete to succeed Kyogo who landed it last year after a sensational season for the Hoops in his second at the club.

Shankland won the PFA version, voted for by the players, after hitting 28 goals to date for the Jambos, leading the line superbly at the same time as captaining the side. Butland was nominated for that too after impressing in the sticks at Ibrox while O'Riley was also in the mix as Celts' most creative player and a goal threat from midfield.

Miovski is the one who comes in having not been nominated for that one, managing 24 goals in a Dons team which as struggled. Gers skipper James Tavernier misses out this time after being a nominee for the PFA POTY.

Shankland and Miovski will be aiming to become the first non-Old Firm player to scoop the gong in 11 years, the last being another Hearts man in Craig Gordon two years ago. Before that, it was then Hibs striker Leigh Griffiths in 2012–13.

The winner will be announced in the coming days before picking up his award at the SFWA awards dinner on May 19. The nominees for the Scottish Football Writers' Manager of the Year are Derek McInnes (Kilmarnock), Tony Docherty (Dundee), John McGlynn (Falkirk) and Philippe Clement (Rangers). In the running for the young player are Lyall Cameron (Dundee), David Watson (Kilmarnock), Connor Barron (Aberdeen) and Lennon Miller (Motherwell).