The 4 Scottish Football Writers' Young Player of the Year nominees revealed

The four nominees for the 2023/24 Scottish Football Writers' Young Player of the Year have been revealed.

Those in the frame for the gong are Aberdeen's Connor Barron, Lyall Cameron of Dundee, Motherwell's Lennon Miller and David Watson of Kilmarnock. They will compete to succeed Max Johnston who landed it last year while a Well player before sealing a stunning move to Sturm Graz on the back of his form.

While the Dons have underachieved this season, 21-year-old Barron has stood out in most of his appearances and fans have been left disappointed as he looks set to move on in the summer. Cameron, also 21, has been one of the standouts of a memorable season for the Dee in which they secured an unexpected top six spot. The midfielder has scored five goals along the way.

At just 17, Miller is already seen as of the Steelmen's best players and has been mooted for a big move either in Scotland, England or abroad after some classy displays in midfield. While Watson, 19, has industry and drive in the Killie midfield and has also added goals to his game.

To be eligible for this award, players must be born on or after January 1 2002 and qualify to play for Scotland. The winner will be announced in the coming days before picking up his award at the SFWA awards dinner on May 19. The nominees for the Scottish Football Writers' Manager and Player of the Year will also be confirmed in due course.