Local students honored at Character Banquet

Apr. 21—The Crossville Community Complex was filled with excitement last week when the Crossville-Cumberland County Sports and Events Council recognized 37 student-athletes from Stone Memorial and Cumberland County High School.

The Council's annual Character Banquet drew a large crowd, thanks in part to the attendance of guest speaker Chamique Holdsclaw, a former University of Tennessee and WNBA superstar. She is also a member of the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Holdsclaw was an all-American at the University of Tennessee under legendary coach Pat Summitt, and a three-time national champion.

She helped guide the USA to the gold medal in the 2000 Olympics.

She was drafted by the Washington Mystics of the WNBA and was named Rookie of the Year. She was the league's scoring champion in 2002.

Holdsclaw told stories of her childhood, her time under legendary coach Summitt, and she encouraged the student-athletes in attendance to keep working hard and to not be afraid of dreaming.

She talked about how she was taught the importance of character by her grandmother and said character is what you do when no one is looking.

Cumberland County Athletic Director Steven Miller opened the awards portion of the evening.

The CCHS students recognized for the Character Award included:

Aaron Miniard, baseball, coach Joey Burnett; Nolen Carter, boys basketball, coach Taylor Denney; Jalynn Baldwin, girls basketball, coach Kim Cram-Torres; Lexi Christian, girls bowling, Daniel Rickman; Analiese Filler, cheerleading, Kaitlyn Hobbs; Zach Ostrander, boys cross country, Drew DeLorenzo.

Alexis Carroll, girls cross country, Drew DeLorenzo; Bryson Wilson, football, coach Noah Repasky; Kelly McCartt, girls golf, Randy Herring; Johnathan Tellez, boys soccer, Cub Whitson; Lexi Pugh, Julie Iles, softball; Hallie Evans, girls soccer, Cub Whitson;

Jacob Atkins, boys track and field, coach Stuart Bowen; Anna Fusco, volleyball, Rodney Howard; Lindsey Gonzalez, girls track and field, Stuart Bowen; Benjamin Hulburt, boys wrestling, Brad Eich; Molly Neal, tennis, coach David Walker; Jade Tuley, girls wrestling, Brad Eich; Jayden Phan [not present], boys bowling, coach Daniel Rickman.

The Stone Memorial students recognized for the Character Award included:

Bryce Elmore, baseball, coach Trent Stokes; Jordan Manis, boys basketball, Neil Capps; Kortney Headrick, girls basketball, Mike Buck; Rylee Griffin, bowling, Tristessa Lutkemeyer; Summer Crabtree, cheerleading, Jordan Houston; Nathan Wagner, boys cross country, Nichole Barton;

Natalee Thompson [not present], girls cross country, Nichole Barton; Deacon Disney [not present], football, Derik Samber; Will Goodwin, boys golf, Trent Stokes; Isaiah Richard, soccer, coach Micah Grenz; Sarah Bass, girls golf, Trent Stokes; Ellie Strong, girls soccer, Brittany Bilbrey;

Kara VonAchen, softball, Brittany Bilbrey; Carrie Houston, tennis, Dylan Nelson; Laney Wiley [not present], girls track and field, Scott Pritt; Trenton Duncan, boys track and field, Scott Pritt; Sophia Johns, volleyball, Tori Permenter; Trenton Duncan, wrestling, Brian Parker.

Three $500 individual scholarships were given to student-athletes from each high school, and three $500 scholarships were given to the teams those student-athletes compete on.

The scholarship winners from Stone Memorial were: Trenton Duncan, track and field; Rylee Griffin, bowling; and Ellie Strong, soccer.

The scholarship winners from Cumberland County High School were: Jacob Atkinson, track and field; Anna Fusco, volleyball; and Jade Tuley, wrestling.