Modifieds in biggest race of year at Anderson Speedway

Apr. 18—ANDERSON — The Anderson Speedway Modified Division will compete in the biggest race of the year Saturday with a 100-lap feature.

The Modifieds returned this year as a regular division, and the race will pay $2,000 to the winner.

Dalton Conner won the opening-night feature chased to the checkers by Nathan Greene.

There were nine Modifieds at opening night in which a Lap 1 incident on the back straight damaged several cars.

A large field is anticipated for the 100-lap feature presented by Byrider.

The Ford Division also returns to action. Josh Sage held off Ron Phipps for the victory with Colson Gray coming home in third in the most recent race.

The Marcum's Welding Front Wheel Drive Division will be in action for the second consecutive week with a strong field of cars at the track last Saturday.

Former champion Nick Warner emerged as the winner followed to the checkered flag by Dylan Hoppes and Brent Kindler.

The Legends are back in action, where a visiting Minnesota driver won the opening-night feature.

Ayron Brockhouse scored the victory but is doubtful to return this weekend. Sam Johnson and John Robbins rounded out the top three with Xavier King finishing fifth.

Qualifying Saturday is set for 4:30 p.m. with racing at 6.

Tickets are $15 for adults, $5 for children between the ages of 6 and 12 and free for children under the age of 5.

Follow Ken de la Bastide on Twitter @KendelaBastide, or call 765-640-4863.