Nations League draw in full: England to face Republic of Ireland after relegation to League B

 (John Walton/PA)
(John Walton/PA)

England will face the Republic of Ireland in the group-stage of the 2024/25 Nations League.

The Three Lions are playing in League B as a result of their relegation from the top tier of the Nations League, after a winless campaign in 2022 saw them finish bottom of their group behind Italy, Hungary and Germany.

Gareth Southgate’s side will take on Ireland, Finland and Greece in Group B2, with the six matches played over three international breaks in September, October and November later this year.

Kazakhstan were initially drawn in the group, but due to rules on excessive travel they were removed and Greece instead completed the quartet.

The most recent match between England and Ireland was a friendly in 2020, which the Three Lions won 3-0 as Jude Bellingham made his international debut. England had been on a seven-game winless run in matches between the two nations before that victory.

Finishing top of the group would guarantee England promotion, while the runners-up will face a play-off against one of the third-placed teams from League A. Coming third in Group B2 would result in a relegation play-off, and finishing bottom means automatic relegation to League C.

Scotland are competing in League A and they will face Croatia, Portugal and Poland, after avoiding the likes of France, Italy and Spain.

Wales, meanwhile, have been drawn against Iceland, Montenegro and Turkey in League B. Northern Ireland must get past Belarus, Bulgaria and Luxembourg if they are to earn promotion from League C.

England endured a miserable Nations League campaign in 2022 (The FA via Getty Images)
England endured a miserable Nations League campaign in 2022 (The FA via Getty Images)

Nations League draw in full

League A

Group A1: Croatia, Portugal, Poland, Scotland

Group A2: Italy, Belgium, France, Israel

Group A3: Netherlands, Hungary, Germany, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Group A4: Spain, Denmark, Switzerland, Serbia

League B

Group B1: Czech Republic, Ukraine, Albania, Georgia

Group B2: England, Finland, Republic of Ireland, Greece

Group B3: Austria, Norway, Slovenia, Kazakhstan

Group B4: Wales, Iceland, Montenegro, Turkey

League C

Group C1: Sweden, Azerbaijan, Slovakia, Estonia

Group C2: Romania, Kosovo, Cyprus, Lithuania/Gibraltar*

Group C3: Luxembourg, Bulgaria, Northern Ireland, Belarus

Group C4: Armenia, Faroe Islands, North Macedonia, Latvia

League D

Group D1: Lithuania/Gibraltar, San Marino, Liechtenstein

Group D2: Moldova, Malta, Andorra