NFL draft: Complete list of No. 1 picks, from Bryce Young to Jay Berwanger

The 2024 NFL draft will begin Thursday, April 25 and ends Saturday, April 27. This year is the 89th edition of the NFL draft, and Detroit is the host city.

The Chicago Bears own the No. 1 overall pick and it’s widely expected that they will select USC quarterback Caleb Williams. A quarterback has been selected No. 1 overall in five of the past six drafts, including Bryce Young to the Carolina Panthers in last year’s draft.

The Baltimore Ravens, Seattle Seahawks and Denver Broncos have never picked No. 1 overall. While the Indianapolis Colts and Los Angeles Rams have selected No. 1 the most times with seven apiece.

USA TODAY lists all the No. 1 picks in the history of the NFL draft.

List of No. 1 NFL Draft picks

2023: QB Bryce Young, Panthers

2022: DE Travon Walker, Jaguars

2021: QB Trevor Lawrence, Jaguars

2020: QB Joe Burrow, Bengals

2019: QB Kyler Murray, Cardinals

2018: QB Baker Mayfield, Browns

2017: DE Myles Garrett, Browns

2016: QB Jared Goff, Rams

2015: QB Jameis Winston, Buccaneers

2014: DE Jadeveon Clowney, Texans

2013: OT Eric Fisher, Chiefs

2012: QB Andrew Luck, Colts

2011: QB Cam Newton, Panthers

2010: QB Sam Bradford, Rams

2009: QB Matthew Stafford, Lions

2008: OT Jake Long, Dolphins

2007: QB JaMarcus Russell, Raiders

2006: DE Mario Williams, Texans

2005: QB Alex Smith, 49ers

2004: QB Eli Manning, Chargers

2003: QB Carson Palmer, Bengals

2002: QB David Carr, Texans

2001: QB Michael Vick, Falcons

2000: DE Courtney Brown, Browns

1999: QB Tim Couch, Browns

1998: QB Peyton Manning, Colts

1997: OT Orlando Pace, Rams

1996: WR Keyshawn Johnson, Jets

1995: HB Ki-Jana Carter, Bengals

1994: DT Dan Wilkinson, Bengals

1993: QB Drew Bledsoe, Patriots

1992: DE Steve Emtman, Colts

1991: DT Russell Maryland, Cowboys

1990: QB Jeff George, Colts

1989: QB Troy Aikman, Cowboys

1988: LB Aundray Bruce, Falcons

1987: QB Vinny Testaverde, Buccaneers

1986: HB Bo Jackson, Buccaneers

1985: DE Bruce Smith, Bills

1984: WR Irving Fryar, Patriots

1983: QB John Elway, Colts

1982: DE Kenneth Sims, Patriots

1981: HB George Rogers, Saints

1980: HB Billy Sims, Lions

1979: LB Tom Cousineau, Bills

1978: HB Earl Campbell, Oilers

1977: HB Ricky Bell, Buccaneers

1976: DE Lee Roy Selmon, Buccaneers

1975: QB Steve Bartkowski, Falcons

1974: DE Ed Jones, Cowboys

1973: DE John Matuszak, Oilers

1972: DE Walt Patulski, Bills

1971: QB Jim Plunkett, Patriots

1970: QB Terry Bradshaw, Steelers

1969: HB O.J. Simpson, Bills

1968: OT Ron Yary, Vikings

1967: DE Bubba Smith, Colts

1966: LB Tommy Nobis, Falcons

1965: HB Tucker Frederickson, Giants

1964: WR Dave Parks, 49ers

1963: QB Terry Baker, Rams

1962: HB Ernie Davis, Washington

1961: HB Tommy Mason, Vikings

1960: HB Billy Cannon, Rams

1959: QB Randy Duncan, Packers

1958: QB King Hill, Cardinals

1957: HB Paul Hornung, Packers

1956: DB Gary Glick, Steelers

1955: QB George Shaw, Colts

1954: QB Bobby Garrett, Browns

1953: OE Harry Babcock, 49ers

1952: QB Bill Wade, Rams

1951: HB Kyle Rote, Giants

1950: OE Leon Hart, Lions

1949: C/LB Chuck Bednarik, Eagles

1948: HB/WR Harry Gilmer, Washington

1947: HB Bob Fenimore, Bears

1946: QB Frank Dancewicz, Yanks

1945: HB Charley Trippi, Cardinals

1944: QB Angelo Bertelli, Yanks

1943: HB Frank Sinkwich, Lions

1942: HB Bill Dudley, Steelers

1941: HB Tom Harmon, Bears

1940: HB George Cafego, Cardinals

1939: C Ki Aldrich, Cardinals

1938: FB Corbett Davis, Rams

1937: FB Sam Francis, Nebraska, Eagles

1936: HB Jay Berwanger, Eagles

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: NFL draft history: Every No. 1 pick through the years