Ryan Giggs left off Premier League Hall of Fame shortlist amid assault trial

Ryan Giggs playing for Manchester United - AFP/Paul Ellis
Ryan Giggs playing for Manchester United - AFP/Paul Ellis

Ryan Giggs has been left out of Premier League Hall of Fame contention while he awaits a second trial over alleged abuse of a former girlfriend.

Giggs, who won the Premier League a record 13 times at Manchester United, is again a notable omission in the latest shortlist of contenders.

Fans must instead choose from a list that includes some of Giggs' former team-mates including Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand, Michael Carrick, Nemanja Vidic and Andy Cole. Tony Adams, John Terry, Michael Owen, Sol Campbell, Petr Cech, Ashley Cole, Jermain Defoe, Les Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler and Yaya Touré make up the list of latest nominees.

Three of the players will take their place in the league's official hall of fame alongside 16 previous inductees, which include Giggs' former manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

Giggs, meanwhile, faces a second trial this summer over allegations of assault and coercive behaviour against his former partner,  Kate Greville. The former Manchester United and Wales footballer will appear in court in July after jurors in his first trial were unable to reach verdicts last year.

The 49-year-old will have been on bail for more than two and a half years by the time he next faces a jury at Manchester Crown Court. Giggs was arrested on November 1 2020.

Ryan Giggs making his way to court - PA/Peter Byrne
Ryan Giggs making his way to court - PA/Peter Byrne

In a statement last year, Giggs said: “After more than three weeks in court I am obviously disappointed that a retrial has been ordered. My not-guilty plea remains in relation to all charges."

Giggs has been overlooked by the Hall of Fame since its inception in 2021. Inaugural inductees were David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Thierry Henry, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard and Alan Shearer.

In 2022, Sergio Aguero, Didier Drogba, Vincent Kompany, Wayne Rooney, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Patrick Vieira and Ian Wright were added.

"The Hall of Fame recognises and celebrates individuals who have an exceptional record of success and have shown significant contribution in the Premier League since its inception in 1992," the league says. "It is the highest individual honour awarded by the League."

Fans can vote online until 6pm on Monday April 10, with the three inductees to be announced on May 3.