Super Bowl winners: Full list of NFL champions, scores and results

Super Bowl winners list every nfl champion

The Super Bowl has a history dating back to 1966, when it grew out of the merger of the NFL (National Football League) and rival AFL (American Football League).

The agreement implemented an end-of-season game and, despite the merger not being finalised until 1970, the first contest – then called the AFL-NFL World Championship Game – was held in 1967.

Every year since 1967 the winners of the AFC and NFC conferences do battle for the Vince Lombardi trophy. The record for the most Super Bowl titles is held jointly between the New England Patriots and the Pittsburgh Steelers, both of whom have won six times. The San Francisco 49ers and the Dallas Cowboys each have five titles, while the Green Bay Packers and New York Giants are both four-times champions.

Before Super Bowl LVIII this year – between the San Francisco 49ers and the Kansas City Chiefs – we provide a helpful list of every single team to have ever won the famous Vince Lombardi trophy.

Game I, 1967: Green Bay Packers bt Kansas City Chiefs 35-10

Game II, 1968: Green Bay Packers bt Oakland Raiders 33-14

Game III, 1969: New York Jets bt Baltimore Colts 16-7

Game IV, 1970: Kansas City Chiefs bt Minnesota Vikings 23-7

Game V, 1971: Baltimore Colts bt Dallas Cowboys 16-13

Game VI, 1972: Dallas Cowboys bt Miami Dolphins 24-3

Game VII, 1973: Miami Dolphins bt Washington Redskins 14-7

Vince Lombardi
The coveted Vince Lombardi trophy - Getty Images

Game VIII, 1974: Miami Dolphins bt Minnesota Vikings 24-7

Game IX, 1975: Pittsburgh Steelers bt Minnesota Vikings 16-6

Game X, 1976: Pittsburgh Steelers beat Dallas Cowboys 21-17

Game XI, 1977: Oakland Raiders bt Minnesota Vikings 32-14

Game XII, 1978: Dallas Cowboys bt Denver Bronocs 27-10

Game XIII, 1979: Pittsburgh Steelers bt Dallas Cowboys 35-31

Game XIV, 1980: Pittsburgh Steelers bt Los Angeles Rams 31-19

Game XV, 1981: Oakland Raiders bt Philadelphia Eagles 27-10

Game XVI, 1982: San Francisco 49ers bt Cincinnati Bengals 26-21

Game XVII, 1983: Washington Redskins bt Miami Dolphins 27-17

Vnce Lombardi
The Vince Lombardi trophy in all its glory - Vince Lombardi

Game XVIII, 1984: Los Angeles Raiders bt Washington Redskins 38-9

Game XIX, 1985: San Francisco 49ers bt Miami Dolphins 38-16

Game XX, 1986: Chicago Bears bt New England Patriots 46-10

Game XXI, 1987: New York Giants bt Denver Broncos 39-20

Game XXII, 1988: Washington Redskins bt Denver Broncos 42-10

Game XXIII, 1989: San Francisco 49ers bt Cincinnati Bengals 20-16

Game XXIV, 1990: San Francisco 49ers bt Denver Broncos 55-10

Game XXV, 1991: New York Giants bt Buffalo Bills 20-19

Game XXVI, 1992: Washington Redskins bt Buffalo Bills 37-24

Game XXVII, 1993: Dallas Cowboys bt Buffalo Bills 52-17

John Elway
John Elway scores a touchdown in the Denver Broncos Super Bowl win - AP

Game XXVIII, 1994: Dallas Cowboys bt Buffalo Bills 30-13

Game XXIX, 1995: San Francisco 49ers bt San Diego Chargers 49-26

Game XXX, 1996: Dallas Cowboys bt Pittsburgh Steelers 27-17

Game XXXI, 1997: Green Bay Packers bt New England Patriots 35-21

Game XXXII, 1998: Denver Broncos bt Green Bay Packers 31-24

Game XXXIII, 1999: Denver Broncos bt Atlanta Falcons 34-19

Game XXXIV, 2000: St. Louis Rams bt Tennesse iTans 23-16

Game XXXV, 2001: Baltimore Ravens bt New York Giants 34-7

Game XXXVI, 2002: New England Patriots bt St. Louis Rams 20-17

Baltimore Ravens'
Trent Dilfer celebrates Baltimore Ravens' Super Bowl win - AP

Game XXXVII, 2003: Tampa Bay Buccaneers bt Oakland Raiders 48-21

Game XXXVIII, 2004: New England Patriots bt Carolina Panthers 32-29

Game XXXIX, 2005: New England Patriots bt Philadelphia Eagles 24-21

Game XL, 2006: Pittsburgh Steelers bt Seattle Seahawks 21-10

Game XLI, 2007: Indianapolis Colts bt Chicago Bears 29-17

Game XLII, 2008: New York Giants bt New England Patriots bt 17-14

Game XLIII, 2009: Pittsburgh Steelers bt Arizona Cardinals 27-23

Tom Brady
Tom Brady lifts the Vince Lombardi trophy aloft - AP

Game XLIV, 2010: New Orleans Saints bt Indianapolis Colts 31-17

Game XLV, 2011: Green Bay Packers bt Pittsburgh Steelers 31-25

Game XLVI, 2012: New York Giants bt New England Patriots 21-17

Game XLVII, 2013: Baltimore Ravens bt San Francisco 49ers bt 34-31

Game XLVIII, 2014: Seattle Seahawks bt Denver Broncos 43-8

Game XLIX, 2015: New England Patriots bt Seattle Seahawks 28-24

Game L, 2016: Denver Broncos bt Carolina Panthers 24-10

Game LI, 2017: New England Patriots bt Atlanta Falcons 34-28

Game LII, 2018: Philadelphia Eagles bt New England Patriots 41-33

Game LIII 2019: New England Patriots bt LA Rams 13-3

Game LIV 2020: Kansas City Chiefs bt San Francisco 49ers 31-30

Game LV 2021: Tampa Bay Buccaneers bt Kansas City Chiefs 31-9

Game LVI 2022: Los Angeles Rams bt Cincinnati Bengals 23-22

Game LVII 2023: Kansas City Chiefs bt Philadelphia Eagles 38-35