Is T20 World Cup final on TV? Channel, start time and how to watch India v South Africa online

South Africa take on India in the T20 World Cup final  (Copyright 2024 The Associated Press. All rights reserved)
South Africa take on India in the T20 World Cup final (Copyright 2024 The Associated Press. All rights reserved)

South Africa will bid to end their tournament hoodoo as the Proteas take on India in the T20 World Cup final.

Famed for falling short when seemingly well placed in past tournaments, South Africa at last reached their first decider at a men’s 50-over or T20 World Cup by beating Afghanistan on a tricky surface in Trinidad.

They now take on India in Barbados targeting a long-awaited triumph, though Rohit Sharma’s side begin as favourites after a commanding win over England in their semi-final.

It’s 17 years since MS Dhoni lifted the trophy at the inaugural edition of this competition, and a well-balanced line-up has every chance of repeating the feat.

Here’s everything you need to know:

When is the T20 World Cup final?

India vs South Africa is due to start at 3.30pm BST on Saturday 29 June at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

How can I watch it?

Viewers in the United Kingdom can watch the match live on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Cricket, with coverage on the channels from 3pm BST. Subscribers can stream the action via Sky Go.

If you’re not a Sky customer, you can grab a NOWTV Day Pass here to watch without a subscription.

Team news

India appear likely to stick with the balance that has served them well over their last few matches, even with a less spin-friendly surface expected. Shivam Dube and Virat Kohli should keep their places despite relatively lean tournaments with the bat.

South Africa may consider returning Ottneil Baartman to their XI after an impressive breakthrough tournament for the seamer. His inclusion would likely come at the expense of Tabraiz Shamsi if the Proteas feel they need extra fast bowling depth.

Predicted line-ups

India XI: Rohit Sharma (capt.), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh.

South Africa XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram (capt.), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ottneil Baartman.


India 1/2

South Africa 13/8

What happens if it rains?

In the event of rain, a minimum of 10 overs per side are required to be played for a result, up from five overs earlier in the tournament. While every effort will be made to complete the match on Saturday 29 June, there is a reserve day for the game on Sunday 30 June (start time 10.30am) — if required, play will pick up from where it was interrupted on Saturday rather than start from scratch.

If the weather prevents the match from being completed, the two sides will be declared joint winners.

We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content. This revenue helps to fund journalism across The Independent.